New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo signed a bill into law yesterday, August 11th, that will require all passengers in rear seats of motor vehicles to wear their seat belts while traveling in New York starting November 1st.

According to, the official website of New York State, violators can be fined up to $50 per person. Drivers could also be fined up to $100 and have three penalty points placed on their driver's license for each violation.

As the current law stands now, only people under the age of 16 are required wear a seat belt, and children are required to be placed in child restraining seats while traveling in the back of vehicles.

99.1 The Whale logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

The Automobile Association of America, the AAA, has been lobbying to have rear seat belt laws passed since May of 2016 according to their website. Their website States that since 1985, more than 1,500 adults that were passengers in the backseat died and car accidents well not wearing their seat belts in New York alone.

Personally I don’t feel comfortable traveling in a vehicle while not wearing a seat belt. It doesn’t matter if I’m in a car or on a bus, I just feel strange not having a seat belt on.

Back in 1984, Governor Mario Cuomo, Andrew's father, signed a law requiring the use of seat belts. New York was the first state in the US to pass a seat belt law.

The Five Most Confusing Traffic Mergers in Binghamton

More From 99.1 The Whale