The Greater Binghamton Sports Hall of Fame has released the names of the Class of 2018 inductees.  The 4th Annual Sports Hall of Fame Induction Dinner is scheduled for Monday, April 23rd at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Binghamton. At an afternoon press conference on Thursday at the DoubleTree,  Anthony Quagliata, Executive Director of AJQ Sports Management and Marketing and members of the selection committee announced the new inductees who include:

Chris Coleman: Olympian in the Four-Man Bobsled and Five-Time Track and Field D-III All-American at Binghamton University

Doreen Denmon: Five-Time US Olympic Festival Championship and Coach (1980).  18-year star catcher for Raybestos Brakettes

Jason Goldman: Two-time NCAA All-American in wrestling at Binghamton University,  Went 36-0 at Maine-Endwell High School and was a New York State Champion

WNBF News/Roger Neel Photo
WNBF News/Roger Neel Photo

Mark Gumble: Three-Time All-American at Binghamton University and National Champion in 1988.  Head Wrestling Coach at Binghamton University for nine seasons. Two-Time Section 4 Champion.


George Herrick: National NHSACA High School Soccer Coach of the Year, Head Coach of Vestal Boys Soccer Coach where his teams went 469-88-38. Teams won New York State Class A Soccer Championship in 1982 and Co-Champians in 1985

Richie Karl:  Endicott native who won the 1974 B.C. Open at En Joie.  Earned six Professional Tour wins.  Two-Time Alaska State Amateur Champion.

Bill Kenville:  Starred at St. Bonaventure in basketball and is a member of that school's Hall of Fame.  Spent six seasons in the NBA and won the NBA Championship in 1955 with the Syracuse Nationals.

Frank Little: Member of the U S Olympic Trapshooting Team, Member of the U S International Team five times. International Style Champion two times and an International All-American three times.

Tom Mitchell:  Partner and Executive Vice-President of the Binghamton Devils.  Was a co-owner of the Binghamton Whalers and Binghamton Rangers. Played professionally for four seasons.

Frank "Sarge" Sorochinsky:  Member of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame, Section 4 Hall of Fame, Central New York Wrestling Hall of Fame, Union-Endicott Hall of Fame.  Founded the wrestling program at U-E.

Ed Stack: Chairman and CEO of Dick's Sporting Goods.  Grew up in the Triple Cities.  Dick's has grown from one store to 610 stores with over 27,000 employees.


Michael Starke:  Coached tennis at Binghamton University for 20 seasons.  Named America East Coach of the Year three times.  Coached 14 All-Americans.  Founded the USTA Men's Pro Tennis Challenger in Binghamton.

Charlie Tarricone:  Head Basketball Coach for Union-Endicott and Endicott Seton Catholic for 25 years.  Teams earned 323 victories.  Won eight Section 4 Championships at U-E.

Randy Will: Member of the USA Olympic Bobsled Team in 1988, 1992 and 2014.  Six-Time National Champion in Bobsledding. Named U S Olympic Committee Coach of the Year in 1966.

Tom Yelverton:  Member of the Section 4 and Susquehanna Valley Halls of Fame.  Won four New York State Federation Pole Vaulting Championships.  His vault of 16' 1" was a state record for 19 years.

Keynote speaker for the event is NBA Hall-of-Famer Earl "The Pearl" Monroe.  Tickets are $65 and available at:

More From 99.1 The Whale