Five greats from the world of baseball were inducted Sunday afternoon into the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in Cooperstown.  The ceremonies were held at the Clark Sports Center in Cooperstown.

The new inductees include:

Jeff Bagwell who spent all 15 of his seasons in the Major Leagues with the Houston Astros.  He was the 1991 Rookie of the Year and the National League Most Valuable Player Award in 1994.

Tim Raines who played with six Major League teams including 13 seasons with the Montreal Expos. Raines led the Big Leagues in stolen bases in six seasons.  He won two World Series Championships with the New York Yankees.

Ivan Rodriguez, a star catcher who won the 1999 American League Most Valuable Player Award. He played for six Major League teams and won 13 Gold Glove Awards.  He was selected to play in 14 All-Star Games and won the World Series with the Florida Marlins in 2003.

John Schuerholz who made his mark as one of the game's great general managers.  He was an outstanding executive with the Kansas City Royals and Atlanta Braves.  His Atlanta teams qualified for 14 consecutive postseasons, advanced to five World Series and the Series Championship in 1995.

Allan "Bud" Selig who served as Major League Baseball's ninth commissioner.  During his time at the helm he oversaw two rounds of expansion, created Wild Card playoff teams and interleague play and also created the World Baseball Classic.

Additional information on all the festivities of Hall of Fame Weekend can be found at:

WNBF News/Roger Neel Photo
WNBF News/Roger Neel Photo

More From 99.1 The Whale