Alaska is back on New York’s quarantine list, along with Montana for having a high enough number of coronavirus cases to fall under the advisory requiring travelers from those states to isolate for 14 days.

Win McNamee/Getty Images
Win McNamee/Getty Images


No states have been removed from the list. 

Locations where a positive test rate for the coronavirus is higher than ten per 10,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or with a ten percent or higher positive rate over a seven-day rolling average qualify for the travel advisory.  Anyone who has been in those locations must quarantine for 14 days upon entering New York State. 

33 locations are on the list: 30 states as well as Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. 

Governor Andrew Cuomo says in addition to restricting entry to New York from areas that have a high rate of COVID-19 cases and positive tests for the coronavirus, it is essential New Yorkers wear mask, socially distance, wash their hands and adhere to all other guidelines for stopping the spread of the pandemic. 

The Governor September 1 also repeated AGAIN that local governments need to enforce the state guidelines.

99.1 The Whale logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

The states and territories on New York's travel advisory list are:

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Virgin Islands
  • Wisconsin


KEEP READING: Check out these totally awesome '80s toys

More From 99.1 The Whale