Cooperstown is a very busy place this weekend with the annual Baseball Hall of Fame Induction ceremonies set for 1:30 PM. Sunday at the Clark Sports Center.  Jack Morris and Alan Trammell who were elected by the Modern Baseball Era Committee and Baseball Writers' Association electees Vladimir Guerrero, Trevor Hoffman, Chipper Jones and Jim Thome will receive baseball's highest honor on Sunday.

There is no admission charge to view the ceremonies. On Saturday there is a special awards presentation.  Sheldon Ocker will receive the J.G. Taylor Spink Award.  Ocker covered the Cleveland Indians for the Akron Beacon Journal for 33 years before retiring in 2013.

Bob Costas will receive the Ford C. Frick Award for broadcasting excellence.  Costas has had a prominent role in numerous baseball broadcasts including Game of the Week and NBC Network assignments as well as Olympic coverage of various competitions.

Costas graduated from Syracuse University in 1974.

WNBF News/Roger Neel Photo
WNBF News/Roger Neel Photo

His first job broadcasting professional sports was as the play-by-play voice of the Syracuse Blazers in the North American Hockey League in the 1973-74 season.  He went directly from that job to KMOX in St. Louis where he became the "Voice" of the Spirits of St. Louis in the American Basketball Association.

More From 99.1 The Whale