Binghamton captain Ben Street is the Devils' representative for American Hockey League (AHL) honors.  He now is one of 31 finalists for the AHL's IOA/Amerian Specialty Man of the Year. The award is given annually by teams in the AHL with one finalist selected as the league's overall representative.  The award honors players for outstanding contributions to their local communities.

99.1 The Whale logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app
Photo courtesy of Binghamton Devils
Photo courtesy of Binghamton Devils

The AHL Award is named the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award.  The award is named in memory of Hershey Bears standout forward and All-Star Yanick Dupre who died in 1997 after a 16-month battle with leukemia.

Street took part in numerous community service projects.  Some of those projects included donating Christmas presents to over 20 children for the Family Enrichment Network, taking part in the Toys-for-Tots Spaghetti Dinner and leading his teammates in a Food-A-Bago food drive to help CHOW.

The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League later this year.

More From 99.1 The Whale