Contact Us

Soundgarden Reveal Cover Art, Tracklist for ‘King Animal’ Album


On Nov. 13, Soundgarden will release ‘King Animal,’ their sixth studio album. The first single and opening track, the aptly titled ‘Been Away Too Long,’ will be available digitally on Sept. 27.

This is the first album for the Seattle band since 1996’s ‘Down on the Upside,’ and only their second since their commercial breakthrough, 1994’s ‘Superunknown,’ which sold more than 5 million copies on the backs of hits ‘Spoonman’ and ‘Black Hole Sun.’

In the interim, lead singer Chris Cornell fronted Audioslave and released several solo albums. ‘Live to Rise,’ which was featured on this summer’s ‘Avengers’ soundtrack, is not included on ‘King Animal.’

Since deciding to reunite in 2010, Soundgarden headlined Lollapalooza and played a handful of dates in America and Europe in 2011 and 2012. Cornell has also recently feuded with Smashing Pumpkins frontman Billy Corgan and wondered where rock went.

‘King Animal’ was produced by the band and longtime Seattle producer Adam Kasper, and mixed by Joe Barresi.

Next: Soundgarden Vs. Smashing Pumpkins

‘King Animal’ Track Listing

1. ‘Been Away Too Long’
2. ‘Non-State Actor’
3. ‘By Crooked Steps.
4. ‘A Thousand Days Before’
5. ‘Blood On The Valley Floor’
6. ‘Bones of Birds’
7. ‘Taree’
8. ‘Attrition’
9. ‘Black Saturday’
10. ‘Halfway There’
11. ‘Worse Dreams’
12. ‘Eyelid’s Mouth’
13. ‘Rowing’

Best of 99.1 The Whale

Recommended For You

Best Of The Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Whale Nation quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Whale Nation contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.